IIT Gandhinagar: 10 Years of ExcellenceNews

Founding Director

Dr. Sudhir Jain is an active academic and a passionate academic administrator. He has been on the faculty of IIT Kanpur (IITK) since 1984 from where he was on leave to the Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar (IITGN) to shoulder the responsibilities of its Director during the period 2009 — 2019.

His work has had tremendous impact on earthquake engineering practice and education in India. He was instrumental in development of several important seismic codes in India, and has trained a huge number of professional engineers and college teachers in earthquake engineering through his highly successful continuing education programmes. He set up the National Information Centre of Earthquake Engineering (NICEE) at IITK and developed the National Programme on Earthquake Engineering Education (NPEEE), supported by the Government of India. Dr. Jain has been consultant for major projects, such as bridges, petrochemical pipelines and concrete dams and has published more than 150 scholarly papers. His research interests include study of damaging earthquakes, reinforced concrete buildings, bridges, and seismic codes.

As the Founder Director of IIT Gandhinagar, Prof. Jain has experimented with numerous ideas in curriculum, student affairs, faculty recruitment and faculty management. The Institute under his leadership has successfully created a number of initiatives to inculcate and promote excellence by the faculty and students. With his innovative approach and energetic leadership, the new Institute has carved out a distinct identity in the IIT system.

Dr. Jain holds a Bachelor of Engineering from the University of Roorkee, and Masters and Doctoral degrees from the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena. He has served as President of the International Association for Earthquake Engineering during 2014 to 2018. He also served on the Board of Directors of the World Seismic Safety Initiative from 2002 to 2009. He was elected Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering in 2003, and was conferred Life Membership by the New Zealand Society for Earthquake Engineering (NZSEE) in 2013. IIT Roorkee gave him the Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2018.