Student Council

The Student Council consists of secretaries who are responsible for managing the execution of activities in their respective domains. Student initiatives at IIT Gandhinagar are coordinated and executed by the Student Council and Student Senate. They are responsible for governance, long-term strategy building and the management of student activities on campus.

Sandeep Yadav
General Secretary
Sandeep Yadav is a senior undergraduate in the discipline of Mechanical Engineering. He is very inclined towards entrepreneurship and always prefer teamwork. He likes solving problems and believes in getting things done. His top priority always lies in the two-way communication between the students and student council. He likes to travel and follows many global business leaders.
Tarun Sharma
Convener, Student Senate
Email: Tarun Sharma
Tarun Sharma is a Senior undergraduate in the discipline of Civil engineering. He has previously held few positions of responsibilities and joined the Student Senate in 2017. He enjoys working in a team and wishes to work towards making student senate a more reliable, effective and accountable. Tarun is passionate about Structural engineering and wishes to pursue a future in it. Apart from this, he likes to travel and explore new places.
Yash Patel
Sports Secretary
Yash is a senior undergraduate student pursuing his major in Mechanical Engineering. He is interested in many sports but plays Football as on-campus sports. He believes that sports are not just a physical activity, but also a platform for an individual to interact. He is passionate about increasing awareness about physical fitness and participation of students in sports.
Rushali Saxena
Technical Secretary
Rushali is pursuing B.Tech in Mechanical Engineering. She believes that creativity and imagination have no bounds and one should always be ready to learn. She likes reading books and writing poetry in her leisure time.
Aagam Shah
IR&P Secretary
Aagam is a senior undergraduate in the discipline of Materials Science and Engineering. He is a dedicated individual and an ardent supporter of necessary industrial exposure to engineering students. He has been an integral part of many organizing committees. He likes to travel and enjoys his everyday dinner conversation with friends.
PDC Secretary
Hardeep is a senior undergraduate student in the discipline of Electrical Engineering and has been an active contributor in the Career Development Services' (CDS) activities. He is a result-oriented leader with the aim to inculcate the professional behaviour among the students of IITGN. He also wants students to excel in their field of choice by helping them fill gaps in the knowledge through various workshops. He has been an integral part of many organising committees. He is a sports enthusiast and likes cycling, jogging, and playing football.

Student Senate

The Student Senate is an elected body that deliberates on various aspects of student life at IIT Gandhinagar. The Student Senate, which meets thrice a semester, has representation from BTech, MA, MSc, MTech and PhD students. Currently there are 15 students in the senate. The Student Senate is coordinated by the Convener. The Student Senate has, under its domain, multiple standing committees viz. Health Committee, Hostel Maintenance Committee, Mess Council, Alumni Association Committee, Steering Committee of senate, Election Commission and Rules & Procedures Committee. The members of the current Student counsel are the following.

List of Senators
Tarun Sharma Senator, B.Tech 2015 
Varun Bhattad Senator, B.Tech 2015
Rahul Bharti Senator, B.Tech 2015
Akhilesh Ravi Senator, B.Tech 2016
Ritik Jain Senator, B.Tech 2016
Lakhan Agrawal Senator, B.Tech 2016
Piyush Chandra Senator, B.Tech 2016
Ajj Patel Senator, B.Tech 2017
Shreya Pamecha Senator, B.Tech 2017
Onteddu Rama Krishna Reddy Senator, B.Tech 2017
Sanjeev Yadav Senator, B.Tech 2017
Anuradha Sharma Senator, Girls' Representative
Shailesh Garg Senator, M.Tech
Luke Nihal Senator, M.Sc
Janaki Nair Senator, M.A.
Sarkale Abhijit Senator, PhD


Alumni Association

The IIT-GN Alumni Association came into existence in the year 2012. Executive committee members, Faculty advisor and student coordinators of alumni association coordinate the activities of Alumni Association.

The Association was established with an objective to set up a strong communication channel between the alumni and its Alma mater. By laying a strong foundation, association would cater to fulfill needs of the alumni, helping them connect with each other and also establish mutually beneficial relationship between alumni and institute.

To build relationships between alumni and student body a series of Web Conference sessions were organised by Alumni Association. Alumni from among various field were invited to participate in these sessions. Through these sessions alumni helped the students to identify and analyse suitable career options to pursue once they complete their graduation.

Health Committee

Health Committee at IITGN strives to improve the health of IITGN family in all ways possible. Health Committee helps provide temporary health treatment through immediate first aid and creates awareness on issues related to health. Committee members are trained to follow a systematic procedure for treatment in emergency situations.

Events Organised :

  • A Quotes writing competition was organized so that people come up with Health related interesting and meaningful quotes. (Around 45 students participated)
  • A stall was setup at Winter Carnations'14 to increase health awareness. Skipping rope, Hula-hoop and a quiz-cum-dart game were the main attractions of the stall apart from the posters and the top 10 quotes that were displayed at the stall.
  • Facebook Page of Health Committee

    Election Commission

    Election Commission IIT Gandhinagar is a formal body to conduct elections for student council , student senate and for the position of class representative.

    EC has set of rules and regulations to conduct elections and to ensure free and fair elections. Members of EC are expanding every year as per the population of voters to ensure smooth functioning of Election Commission. EC also take measures to increase voting percentage by various innovative measures.

    Facebook Page of Election Commission

    Maintainance Committee

    The committee looks after all the maintenance facilities provided to the students in the hostels.

    • For each hostel, committee includes a faculty supervisor and student team.
    • Each hostel has a hostel warden/caretakers and other maintenance staff.