ORGANIZATION

Prof. Subhash Bhatnagar Honorary Professor, IIM Ahmedabad

Prof. Uday N. Gaitonde Professor of Mechanical Engineering, IIT Bombay

Prof. Sudhir R. Ghorpade Professor of Mathematics, IIT Bombay.

Prof. Sharmita Lahiri, IIT Gandhinagar

## Secretary

Prof. Ragavan K., IIT Gandhinagar

## Scholarships Committee

#### Convener

Prof. Koshy Tharakan

### Members

Prof. Jaison A. Manjaly Shri Manu Pratap Singh Bhadauria

## Library Committee

## Chairman

Prof. Ameeya A. Bhagwat

#### Members

Prof. Sameer V. Dalvi Prof. Joycee M. Mekie Prof. Vinod Narayanan Prof. Abhijit Sarkar Prof. Ragavan K.

#### **Academic Officials**

Prof. Sudhir K. Jain Director

Prof. G. K. Sharma Professor-in-Charge, Faculty Affairs

Prof. S. L. Narayanamurthy Professor-in-Charge, Academic Affairs

Prof. Koshy Tharakan Professor-in-Charge, Student Affairs

Prof. D. P. Roy Professor-in-Charge, Engineering Disciplines

Prof. D. V. Pai Professor-in-Charge, Sciences and HSS Disciplines

Prof. S. S. Major Convener IITGN Cell, IIT Bombay

Prof. Jaison A. Manjaly Warden, Student Hostel

#### **Administrative Officials**

Shri B. S. Punalkar Mentor Registrar, IIT Gandhinagar and Registrar, IIT Bombay

Maj. Gen. (Retd) Vijay Aga Officer on Special Duty

Shri D. S. Gupta Senior Assistant Registrar IITGN Cell, IIT Bombay

Shri R. T. Shah Assistant Registrar (Finance & Accounts)



Dr Vinod Prasad Assistant Registrar (Academic / Administration)

Shri Pijush Majumdar Assistant Registrar (Materials Management)

Shri Santosh Raut Caretaker, Guest House

Shri Sanjeev Pandey Caretaker, Student Hostel

## Student Leadership

Office bearers for the Academic Year 2010-11 were elected by the students on March 21, 2010. The following students were declared elected:

General Secretary Shri Vineeth Dasaraju

Academic Secretary Shri Nishant S. Joshi

Sports Secretary Shri Bhargav Kumar Thadem

Cultural Secretary Shri Ajinkya M. Kulkarni

Public Relations Secretary Shri Shashank Pandey

Technical Secretary Shri Harikrishnan C. B.

# Faculty at IITGN as on March 31, 2010

Distinguished Honorary Professors			
Prof. S.P. Sukhatme	Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering, IIT Bombay		
Prof. J. B. Joshi	DAE Homi Bhabha Distinguished Chair Professor		

Departments/ Names	Designation	PhD	Specialization
Chemical Engineering	g S	l	
Sameer V. Dalvi	Assistant Professor	IIT Bombay, 2007	Particle Formation
Mukund H. Divekar	Adjunct Professor	IIT Bombay, 1977	Heat Transfer, Fluid Flow, Process Control and Design
Kalyan Gayen	Assistant Professor	IIT Bombay, 2007	Systems Biology & Biochemical Engineering
Chinmay Ghoroi	Assistant Professor	IIT Bombay, 2007	Solid-solid reactions, Phase equilibrium
S. L. Narayanamurthy	Visiting Professor	University of Bradford, 1971	Food Process Engineering
Nitin Padhiyar	Assistant Professor	IIT Bombay, 2008	Process Optimization and Control
Chemistry			
Sriram G. Kanvah	Assistant Professor	IIT Bombay, 2001	Bio-organic Chemistry
Iti Gupta	Assistant Professor	IIT Bombay, 2005	Macrocyclic Receptors & Expanded Porphyrinoids
Subrata Pal	Assistant Professor	IISc Bangalore, 2008	Theoretical Physical Chemistry
Civil Engineering			
Sudhir K.Jain	Director, Professor	Caltech, 1983	Earthquake Engineering, Structural Dynamics
Computer Science an	d Engineering	l	
Dhiren R.Patel	Visiting Professor	REC Surat, 2004	Information Security & Web Engineering
<b>Economics and Mana</b>			
Abhijit Sarkar	Assistant Professor	IIT Bombay, 2008	Money, Banking and Finance
Electrical Engineerin			
M.S.Agarwal	Visiting Professor	University of Liverpool, 1977	Electric Power Systems
Ragavan K.	Assistant Professor	IISc Bangalore, 2006	Transformer Diagnostics
Joycee M. Mekie	Assistant Professor	IIT Bombay, 2009	VLSI Design
K.V.V. Murthy	Visiting Professor	IIT Bombay, 1977	Electrical Network Theory
Surendra Ranganath	Professor	University of California, Davis, 1983	Digital Image and Signal Processing

English			
Sharmita Lahiri	Assistant	University of	Postcolonial Literature
	Professor	Houston, 2008	and Composition
Suchitra Mathur	Visiting	Wayne State	Postcolonial Theory and
	Associate	University, USA,	Literature
	Professor	1989	
Mathematics			
Manju Khan	Assistant	IIT Delhi, 2007	Group Algebra, Group
	Professor		Theory and Ring Theory
D. V. Pai	Visiting	IIT Bombay,	Functional Analysis,
	Professor	1972	Approximation Theory
P. K. Parida	Assistant	IIT Kharagpur,	Numerical Analysis,
	Professor	2008	Mathematical
			Programming
Mechanical Engineer			
B.D. Agarwal	Visiting	Illinois Institute	Solid Mechanics and
J	Professor	of Technology,	Design, Composite
		1972	Materials
Dhiren Modi	Assistant	University of	Polymer Composites
	Professor	Nottingham,	
		2008	
Vinod Narayanan	Assistant	JNCASR, 2006	Fluid Mechanics
	Professor		
Manmohan Pandey	Associate	IIT Kanpur,	Nuclear Reactor
	Professor	1997	Thermal Hydraulics
N. Ramakrishnan	Visiting	IIT Bombay,	Manufacturing,
	Professor	1980	Automation &
			Composite Materials
D. P. Roy	Visiting	Tech University	Fluid Dynamics & Fluid
	Professor	Aachen, 1976	Machinery
G. K. Sharma	Visiting	Moscow Power	Thermal Engineering
	Professor	Engg Institute,	
		1974	
Philosophy			1
Jaison A.Manjaly	Assistant	IIT Kharagpur,	Metaphysics of Mind,
	Professor	2008	Cognitive Science
Koshy Tharakan	Associate	University of	Phenomenology and
	Professor	Hyderabad,	Philosophy of Social
		2002	Sciences
Physics			1
Ameeya A.Bhagwat	Assistant	IIT Bombay,	Theoretical Nuclear
	Professor	2005	Structure and Reaction
			Physics
Pallavi P. Ghalsasi	Assistant	IISc Bangalore,	High Pressure Physics
	Professor	2002	on Novel Materials
Kinnari Parekh U.A.Yajnik*	Assistant	Bhavnagar,	Nanomagnetic Fluids
	Professor	1999	
	Dean AP/SA,	University of	Elementary Particle
	Professor	Texas, Austin,	Physics and Cosmology
		1986	
Sociology			1
Deepthi Shanker	Assistant	ISEC Bangalore,	Sociology of Science and
	Professor	2005	Technology

<sup>\*</sup>Till December 29, 2009.